The Academy

Concealed Handgun Licensing

Concealed Handgun License - Initial (One Day) Class

Effective September 1, 2013, the Texas Concealed Handgun License Class is a Four Hour Class, not including RANGE TIME. Our class will be approximately Five hours with range time.

The Academy at DFW Gun offers 2 convenient ways to complete the training requirements to receive a license to carry a concealed handgun from the Texas Department of Public Safety. We offer this one day class, and an evening class on Thursday nights. Upon successful completion of the class and submission of the application materials, the state will issue you a license as soon as 60 days, assuming there is no legal disqualification. Our CHL class package includes the following:

  • Training by a DPS certified instructor
  • Qualify in house on our DPS approved range (indoor, safe, clean, and climate controlled)
  • Application Preparation Assistance
  • Handgun (if none available by student) for use during range qualification
  • Safety glasses, and hearing protection for use during range qualification

Note: In accordance with the State of Texas as of March 1, 2011, all fingerprints must now be done electronically through an L1 finger printing location. We will also be referring students to L1 for their passport photos.

Subjects Covered:

  • Concealed carry law
  • Where you can carry and where you cannot
  • When you can use force or deadly force
  • Legal implications of use of force or deadly force
  • Texas weapons laws
  • Nonviolent dispute resolution
  • Firearms safety

If you have further questions, please call at 214-630-4866 or check out the Department of Public Safety’s website at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/crime_records/chl/chlsindex.htm.

Required Equipment:

Handgun gun, 50 rounds of ammunition, safety glasses, and hearing protection for use during range qualification. It is no longer required to have your application packet before you begin class. If you do not have your Application Packet, we have them available.

Prerequisites:

There is a qualification at the end of this class. We will give guidance on handgun safety, but you must have basic handgun skills and shooting experience prior to this class in order to qualify.

Cost: $99.00 (5 hours)

Register Online

Concealed Handgun License - Refresher

Effective September 1, 2013, Classes for renewals are going away completely. All those renewing a CHL will have to do is go online, submit an application, pay a fee, and sign an acknowledgement of the law. There is no requirement to re-qualify in a class or at the range.

However, if you want to take a refresher course, before you submit an acknowledgement of the law, we invite you to come to one of our CHL Classes for a reduced fee. The cost of the refresher class is $65. We will review the law changes, places you can and can’t carry, and the use of force laws. We will also have a range training portion that is voluntary.

The Academy at DFW Gun offers 2 convenient ways to complete the training. We offer a one day 4 hour class and a one night class during the week. Classroom Training performed by DPS Certified Instructors with Range Qualification on DPS Approved Range (Indoor / Safe / Clean / Cool).

Included in the class:

  • Handgun (if none available by student) for use during range qualification
  • Safety glasses, and hearing protection for use during range qualification

Required Equipment:

Handgun, 50 rounds of ammunition, safety glasses, and hearing protection for use during range qualification.

Cost: $65.00 (4 hours)

Register Online

Private CHL

For those of you that would like more of a one on one setting, DFW Gun offers a Private CHL Class. This can be done one on one with your own personal instructor, or for you and up to 5 friends. Each individual must pay the private CHL fee. This can be done by the original registrant contacting DFW Gun and adding additional individuals to the class.

Effective September 1, 2013, the Texas Concealed Handgun License Class is a Four Hour Class, not including RANGE TIME. Our class will be approximately Five hours with range time.

Upon successful completion of the class and submission of the application materials, the state will issue you a license as soon as 60 days, assuming there is no legal disqualification. Our CHL class package includes the following:

  • Training by a DPS certified instructor
  • Qualify on our in house DPS approved range (indoor, safe, clean, & climate controlled)
  • Application Preparation Assistance
  • Handgun (if none available by student) for use during range qualification
  • Safety glasses, and hearing protection for use during range qualification

Note: In accordance with the State of Texas as of March 1, 2011, all fingerprints must now be done electronically through an L1 finger printing location. We will also be referring students to L1 for their passport photos.

Subjects Covered:

  • Concealed carry law
  • Where you can carry and where you cannot
  • When you can use force or deadly force
  • Legal implications of use of force or deadly force
  • Texas weapons laws
  • Nonviolent dispute resolution
  • Firearms safety

If you have further questions, please call at 214-630-4866 or check out the Department of Public Safety’s website at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/crime_records/chl/chlsindex.htm.

Required Equipment:

Handgun gun, 50 rounds of ammunition, safety glasses, and hearing protection for use during range qualification. It is no longer required to have your application packet before you begin class. If you do not have your Application Packet, we have them available.

Prerequisites:

There is a qualification at the end of this class. We will give guidance on handgun safety, but you must have basic handgun skills and shooting experience prior to this class in order to qualify.

Cost: $225.00 (5 hours)

Register Online

Women's Concealed Handgun Course

Effective September 1, 2013, the Texas Concealed Handgun License Class is a Four Hour Class, not including RANGE TIME.

The Academy at DFW Gun offers a concealed handgun class taught by an NRA certified female instructor. This course is designed with our female clientele in mind. This will be taught in accordance to the Texas DPS regulations. Upon successful completion of the class and submission of the application materials, the State of Texas will issue you a license as soon as 60 days, assuming there is no legal disqualification. Our CHL class package includes the following:

  • Training by a female DPS certified instructor
  • Qualify in house on our DPS approved range (indoor, safe, clean, & climate controlled)
  • Notary Services
  • Application Preparation Assistance
  • Handgun provided if not available by student, for use during range qualification
  • Safety glasses, and hearing protection for use during range qualification

Note: In accordance with the State of Texas as of March 1, 2011, all fingerprints must now be done electronically through an L1 finger printing location.

Subjects Covered:

  • Concealed carry law
  • Where you can carry and where you cannot
  • When you can and cannot use force or deadly force
  • Legal implications of use of force or deadly force
  • Texas weapons laws
  • Nonviolent dispute resolution
  • Firearms safety

If you have further questions, please call DFW Gun Range at 214-630-4866 or check out the Department of Public Safety’s website at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/crime_records/chl/chlsindex.htm.
Required Equipment:

Required Equipment:

Handgun gun, 50 rounds of ammunition, safety glasses, and hearing protection for use during range qualification. It is no longer required to have your application packet before you begin class. If you do not have your Application Packet, we have them available.

Prerequisites:

Basic Handgun Knowledge

Cost: $99.00 (5 hours)

Register Online