The Academy

Security Officer - Licensing

PSB L3 Commissioned Security COURSE

40 hour weekend course starting on Saturday morning and ending Tuesday Afternoon. This course provides the Level III training and certification as required by the State of Texas and the PSB, including both classroom and firearms range qualification. This is the Texas certification required to qualify as an Armed Security Officer. The officer is trained in basic security topics related to his or her daily assignments and responsibilities.

Subjects Covered:

  • Private Security Act
  • Commission Rules
  • Texas Penal Code
  • Ethics
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Public Perception
  • Firearms, Shotgun & Handgun
  • Arrest Authority
  • Use of Force & Deadly Force

Required Equipment:

You are required to qualify with a Handgun and Shotgun during the class. The Handgun must be at least a .38 Caliber Revolver or at least a 9 MM Semiautomatic. Bring your Handgun, 50 rounds of ammunition and hearing protection for use during range qualification. If you do not have a Handgun, we will furnish the Handgun (*Note – if you use our handgun you must use our ammunition for an additional charge) at time of class. The Shotgun must be a 12 Gauge. Bring your Shotgun and 10 Shotgun Shells (12 gauge – 00 Buck). If you do not have a Shotgun, we will furnish the Shotgun (Shotgun ammunition is an additional charge).

We will need all individuals that participate in this class to complete a safety waiver. This can be done in store, however, for speedy check in you may fill this waiver out at this website in advance www.smartwaiver.com/v/dfwgun

Prerequisites:

Level II

Cost: $150.00 (40 hours)

Register Online

PSB Level II - Security Officer Course

This program will teach individuals with little or no previous experience the basic principals of the security industry using the State of Texas required materials. This course provides the Level II training and certification as required by the State of Texas. Once complete, you will be provided with the basic certification (to be submitted and approved by the State) to be able to work legally as an unarmed security officer in the State of Texas.

*Note: To become an armed security officer, you are then required to take the Level III course. You may continue with Level III on the same day as you complete Level II by also registering for the same day Level III program. This will allow you to continue the completion of both programs.

Required Equipment:

Notebook and pen

Prerequisites

None. This class can be taken in conjunction with the scheduled Level III program, but you must register for Level III separately.

Cost: $40.00 (6 hours)

Register Online

PSB Level III Commissioned Security Officer Course (4 days)

This training program, designed to minimize the liability of both the officer and the company, is a 4 consecutive day – 40 hour course. This course provides the Level III training and certification as required by the State of Texas and the PSB, including both classroom and firearms range qualification. This is the Texas certification required to qualify as an Armed Security Officer. The officer is trained in basic security topics related to his or her daily assignments and responsibilities.

Subjects Covered:

  • Private Security Act
  • Commission Rules
  • Texas Penal Code
  • Ethics
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Public Perception
  • Firearms, Shotgun & Handgun
  • Arrest Authority
  • Use of Force & Deadly Force

Required Equipment:

You are required to qualify with a Handgun and Shotgun during the class. The Handgun must be at least a .38 Caliber Revolver or at least a 9 MM Semiautomatic. Bring your Handgun, 50 rounds of ammunition and hearing protection for use during range qualification. If you do not have a Handgun, we will furnish the Handgun (*Note – if you use our handgun you must use our ammunition for an additional charge) at time of class. The Shotgun must be a 12 Gauge. Bring your Shotgun and 10 Shotgun Shells (12 gauge – 00 Buck). If you do not have a Shotgun, we will furnish the Shotgun (Shotgun ammunition is an additional charge).

We will need all individuals that participate in this class to complete a safety waiver. This can be done in store, however, for speedy check in you may fill this waiver out at this website in advance www.smartwaiver.com/v/dfwgun

Prerequisites:

Level II

Cost: $150.00 (40 hours)

Register Online

PSB Level IV - Personal Protection Officer (2 Days)

This is the 15 hour (two consecutive days) Texas Department of Public Safety – Private Security Board’s (PSB) Level IV Personal Protection Officer (PPO) course. It fulfills the State of Texas training requirements of the PSB for a Personal Protection Officer license. Items covered include how to protect the principle when alone or as a team. Threat avoidance techniques are shown, and how to plan and scout escape routes. Some defensive tactics are taught as well as transportation tips, and the importance of proper planning.

Note: We do not administer the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI) Test which is required before submitting a PPO registration to PSB.

Subjects Covered:

  • Options in Personal Protection
  • Comprehensive Protection Planning
  • Coordination with local Authorities
  • Building a Client Profile
  • Rings of Protection
  • The Force Continuum
  • Unarmed Defensive Tactics
  • Oleoresin Capsicum Training
  • Private Security Act & Commission Rules
  • Texas Penal Code
  • Conflict Resolution & Avoidance
  • Public Perception
  • Arrest Authority
  • Use of Force & Deadly Force

Required Equipment:

None. All equipment is provided. There is no gun range work required in this class.

Prerequisites:

The PSB Commission Rule 430.1 states that an applicant for a Personal Protection authorization must have already been issued a Commission.

Cost: $200.00 (15 hours)

Register Online

PSB Requalification for Commissioned Security Officers

Texas Department of Public Safety’s Private Security Bureau (PSB) requires 6 hours of Continuing Education training and firearms re-qualificationo every two (2) years to renew the Commissioned Security Officer License. This course provides the Level III re-qualification training and certification as required by the State of Texas and the PSB to renew your expired or expiring Commission. It includes both classroom and firearms range qualification.

Note: Licensed Mangers may take the course to fulfill 6 hours of continuing education (CE) credits toward Maintaining their Manager’s License.

Required Equipment:

You are required to qualify with a Handgun and Shotgun during the class. The Handgun must be at least a .38 Caliber Revolver or at least a 9 MM Semiautomatic. Bring your Handgun, 50 rounds of ammunition and hearing protection for use during range qualification. If you do not have a Handgun, we will furnish the Handgun (*Note – if you use our handgun you must use our ammunition for an additional charge) at time of class. The Shotgun must be a 12 Gauge. Bring your Shotgun and 10 Shotgun Shells (12 gauge – 00 Buck). If you do not have a Shotgun, we will furnish the Shotgun (Shotgun ammunition is an additional charge).

We will need all individuals that participate in this class to complete a safety waiver. This can be done in store, however, for speedy check in you may fill this waiver out at this website in advance www.smartwaiver.com/v/dfwgun

Prerequisites:

Level III Commissioned, either expired or expiring.

Cost: $75.00 (6 hours)

Register Online

SHOOTING ONLY Requalification for Level III Security

This is a SHOOT ONLY requalification for TX PSB Level III Security. This is NOT the six hour Continuing education class required by the TX PSB to renew an expired or expiring state issued commission card. It serves as an addendum certificate to satisfy the 90 day expiration of certificates issued without a registration by a licensed security company. May also be used to satisfy company protocols of their officers firearm standards.
Course of fire will be by a certified PSB Level III instructor and a hard copy certificate will be provided upon passing requalification.

Equipment required:

Pistol of 9mm or above with 1 magazine, 50 rounds of handgun ammunition ( a handgun may be provided at no charge but officer is responsible for purchasing ammunition from DFW Gun Range. Personal ammunition purchased somewhere else may not be used in DFW Gun Ranges range guns)

12 gauge Shotgun (Optional)with 6 rounds of 9 pellet 00 buck ammunition ( a shotgun may be provided at no charge but officer is responsible for purchasing ammunition from DFW Gun Range. Personal ammunition purchased somewhere else may not be used in DFW Gun Ranges range guns)

Eye and Ear protection and a target will be provided at no additional cost.

Cost: $35.00 (1 hour)

Register Online